Our Board of Directors

Tom Williams, Chairman
Strategic Educational Alliances, Inc.

Alfred Mays, Chair Elect
Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Doug Sprecher, Secretary/Treasurer
First Citizens Bank

Michael Priddy, Immediate Past Chairman
21st Century Leadership, LLC

Mary Ann Wolf President & Executive Director
Public School Forum of North Carolina

Margaret Arbuckle
Guilford Education Alliance (Retired)

Keisha Bentley-Edwards
Duke University School of Medicine, Samuel DuBois Cook Center on Social Equity

Shirley Carraway
Retired Educator

Van Dempsey
UNC Wilmington Watson College of Education

Miles Devaney

Dudley Flood

John Healy

Melody Johnson
Johnson & Johnson Medical Devices

Tammorah Mathis
NC Department of Public Instruction

Costa Panagos

Yesenia L. Polanco-Galdamez
Polanco Law, P.C.

Richard Schwartz
Schwartz & Shaw PLLC

Cyndi Soter O’Neil
ChildTrust Foundation-Investors Management Corporation

Steve Stephenson
Ward and Smith, P.A.

Richard Urquhart
Investors Management Corporation

Tony Watlington
Guilford County Schools

Willis “Bill” Whichard
Tillman, Whichard, & Cagle, PLLC

Mekeisha Williams
Duke University and Health System

Saundra Wall Williams
Vision Building Institute for Women

David Young
Participate Learning

Emeritus Members

Barbara Allen

Lynda Anderson
Retired Education Policy Advisor

Gene Arnold
Former NC House Legislator

Tom Bradshaw
Tom Bradshaw & Associates

Gerry Hancock
Everett, Gaskins, Hancock, LLP

Sam Houston
NC Science, Mathematics, & Technology Education Center

Tom Lambeth
Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation

Our Advisory Board

Marina Aleman, Que Pasa Media Network

Bruce Beasley, The Beasley Group

Amanda Bell, Rockingham County Board of Education

Chris Bell, SunTrust Bank

Rep. Hugh Blackwell, NC General Assembly

Matthew Bristow-Smith, NC Principal of the Year

Evelyn Bulluck, NCSBA, Nash/Rocky Mount Public Schools

Sue Burgess, Retired Superintendent, Dare County Schools

J.B. Buxton, Durham Technical Community College

Dennis Carroll, High Point University

Alisa Chapman, Education Policy Consultant

Gina Chung, Empowered Parents in Community (Board)

Sandra Wilcox Conway, Conway and Associates

Jeni Corn, myFutureNC

Courtney Crowder, Crowder Consulting

Dick Daugherty, IBM (Retired)

Eric Davis, State Board of Education, Chair

John Denning, New Educational Ventures, LLC

Ed Dunlap, NC School Boards Association

Bob Eaves, Business Owner, Investor

Catherine Edmonds, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools System

Lou Fabrizio, Fabrizio Education Consulting

Cristal Figueroa, Access Family Services

Jayne Fleener, College of Education at NC State

Patti Gillenwater, Elinvar

Barbara Goodmon, 2019 Jay Robinson Education Leadership Award Recipient

Jim Goodmon, 2019 Jay Robinson Education Leadership Award Recipient

Ann Goodnight, SAS

Jessica Holmes, Wake County Board of Commissioners

Sen. Rick Horner, NC Senate

Anthony Jackson, NC Superintendent of the Year

Mark Johnson, State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Katherine Joyce, NC Association of School Administrators

Graham Lewis, Schneider Electric

Shanta Lightfoot, Wake County Public School System

Matt Liles, NC Department of Justice

Kaye Bernard McGarry, Educational Consultant, Community Leader

Bill McNeal , Wake County Public School System (Retired)

Bill Medlin, Professional Educators of NC

Rep. Graig Meyer, NC House

Mariah Morris, NC Teacher of the Year

Catherine Otto, SAS

Tom Oxholm, Wake Stone Corporation

LaTanya Pattillo, Teacher Advisor to Governor Roy Cooper

Scott Penland, Clay County Schools (Retired)

Justin Perry, Perry Counseling Healing and Recovery

Jim Phillips, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard

Mari Pokornowski, NC PTA

Philip Price, NC Department of Public Instruction (Retired)

Shirley Prince, NC Principals & Assistant Principals’ Association

Karl Rectanus, LearnPlatform

Sen. Gladys Robinson, NC Senate

Marion Robinson, State Employees Credit Union

Katie Rosanbalm, Center for Child and Family Policy, Duke University

Art Rouse, East Carolina University College of Education

Peggy Smith, Campbell University

Mark Sorrells, Fayettville Technical Community College

Julie Spencer, NC Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development

Maurenn Stover, NC Teacher of the Year – 2020

Caroline Sullivan, NC Business Committee for Education

Erin Swanson, Edgecombe County Public Schools

Sen. Jerry Tillman, NC Senate

Tamika Walker Kelly, NC Association of Educators

Hope Williams NC Independent Colleges & Universities

Blount Williams, Alfred Williams & Company

Marco Zarate, NC Society of Hispanic Professionals

Share This