RALEIGH, NC (June 9, 2017) – The Board of Directors of the Public School Forum of North Carolina elected several new Directors and At-Large Forum members at its June 6, 2017 meeting. The two-year terms officially begin July 1, 2017. The Board of Directors elected Tom Williams as Chair-elect. Williams will succeed Michael Priddy as Board Chair on July 1, 2018.

“We’re honored to add so many dynamic and distinguished individuals to our Board of Directors and Membership,” said Keith Poston, President & Executive Director of the Public School Forum of North Carolina. “We rely on leaders like these to provide guidance to our organization and to inform and underpin all that we do to advance education in this state.”

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Print Friendly
  • Google+
  • Buffer
  • LinkedIn
Chair-elect Tom Williams (pictured right) is President of Strategic Educational Alliances, Inc. Prior to founding Strategic Educational Alliances, Tom served the public schools of North Carolina in various capacities for thirty-two years. Most recently, he was superintendent of Granville County Schools until his retirement. Tom received his undergraduate degree in elementary education at Pembroke State University and his M.A.Ed., Ed.S., and Ed.D in educational leadership from East Carolina University.

Michael Priddy, Chairman (continuing term)
Tom Oxholm, Secretary/Treasurer (continuing term)
Gene Arnold, Immediate Past Chair (continuing term)
Tom Williams, Chair Elect (chairmanship begins July 1, 2018)
Keith Poston, President and Executive Director

Board of Directors

New Board Members
Damon Circosta, Executive Director, AJ Fletcher Foundation
Courtney Crowder, President, Crowder Consulting Co.
Charles Francis, Managing Partner, The Francis Law Firm
Cyndi Soter O’Neil, Senior Policy Advisor, ChildTrust Foundation-Investors Management Corporation
Mark Sorrells, Senior Vice President, Golden LEAF Foundation
Steve Stephenson, Partner, Ward and Smith
Sandra Wilcox Conway, President, Conway & Associates
Saundra Wall Williams, President and CEO, Vision Building Institute for Women

Current Board Members elected to new two-year terms:
Miles Devaney, Senior Director Manufacturing, Biogen
Malbert Smith, CEO, President and Co-founder, MetaMetrics
Costa Panagos, Chief Executive Officer, Q2 Solutions/QuintilesIMS
Will Sutton, Executive Vice President and Director, The BB&T Leadership Institute, BB&T
Willis “Bill” Whichard, Partner, Tillman, Hinkle & Whichard PLLC

Public School Forum Membership

New Forum At-Large Members
Sue Burgess, Retired Superintendent, Dare County Schools
Scott Penland, Retired Superintendent, Clay County Schools
Philip Price, retired Chief Financial Officer, NC Dept. of Public Instruction
Patti Gillenwater, President & CEO, President, Elinvar
Dick Daugherty, Retired Senior Executive, IBM
Blount Williams, Chairman & CEO, Alfred Williams & Co.
Alisa Chapman, Visiting Fellow in Public Policy and the Global Research Institute at UNC Chapel Hill
Jim Phillips, Partner at Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard
Chris Bell, Region President, SunTrust Bank
Van Isley, Chairman and CEO, Professional Builders Supply
Jessica Holmes, Wake County Board of Commissioners
Norris Tolson, President & CEO, Carolinas Gateway Partnership

Current At-Large Forum Members elected to new two-year terms:
Evelyn Bulluck, Board Member, Nash/Rocky Mount Public Schools
J.B. Buxton, Founding Principal, Education Innovations Group
Jeni Corn, Director of Evaluation Programs, Friday Institute for Educational Innovation
Lou Fabrizio, Consultant, Fabrizio Education Consulting
Jayne Fleener, Research Professor, Friday Institute for Educational Innovation
Shirley Prince, Executive Director, NC Principals and Assistant Principals’ Association (NC PAPA)
Sen. Gladys Robinson, NC General Assembly 

Share This