RALEIGH, NC (July 21, 2020) – At its June 2020 meeting, the Board of Directors of the Public School Forum of North Carolina elected several new Directors and At-Large Advisors for two-year terms that officially began July 1, 2020.

“The Forum’s Board of Directors and Advisory Board bring together accomplished individuals with diverse backgrounds and perspectives to focus on public education in NC. We are excited to welcome our new members during this critical time for our schools,” said Dr. Mary Ann Wolf, President & Executive Director of the Public School Forum of North Carolina. “We look forward to the continued leadership of our Board Chair, Tom Williams, as we strive to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based research, policy analysis and innovative programs to support public education throughout North Carolina.”

The Forum’s Board of Directors also elected Alfred Mays, Senior Program Officer of Science Education and Diversity Programming at the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, as Chair Elect for 2020-21. “Alfred brings a wealth of experience to his new role,” said Tom Williams, Chair of the Board of Directors. “He has been instrumental in establishing and preparing for the launch of the Dr. Dudley Flood Center for Equity and Educational Opportunity (FCEEO), and we look forward to his leadership as we continue to address critical education issues and policy needs in North Carolina.”

This year’s new Board Members and Advisors, who are serving two-year terms, include dynamic leaders from the education, media, legal, medical, and business sectors.


Tom Williams, Chairman, Strategic Educational Alliances, Inc.

Alfred Mays, Chairman-Elect, Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Doug Sprecher, Secretary/Treasurer, First Citizens Bank

Michael Priddy, Immediate Past Chair, 21st Century Leadership LLC

Mary Ann Wolf, President and Executive Director, Public School Forum of NC

Board of Directors

New Board Members

Tammorah Mathis, NC Department of Public Instruction

Tony Watlington, Guilford County Schools

Current Board Members elected to new two-year terms:

Margaret Arbuckle, Guilford Education Alliance (Retired)

Keisha Bentley-Edwards, Duke University School of Medicine, Samuel DuBois Cook Center on Social Equity

Van Dempsey, UNC Wilmington Watson College of Education

Dudley Flood, Consultant

John Healy, Kelly Services, Inc.

Richard Schwartz, Schwartz & Shaw PLLC

Richard Urquhart, Investors Management Corporation

David Young, Participate Learning

Public School Forum Advisory Board

New Forum At-Large Advisors

Gina Chung, Empowered Parents in Community (Board)

John Denning, Consultant

Cristal Figueroa, Access Family Services

Ann Goodnight, SAS

Sen. Rick Horner, NC Senate

Tom Oxholm, Wake Stone Corporation

Art Rouse, East Carolina University College of Education

Marco Zarate, Past President/Co-Founder/Board Member NC Society of Hispanic Professionals

Current Forum At-Large Advisors elected to new two-year terms:

Dennis Carroll, High Point University

Rep. Graig Meyer, NC House

Catherine Otto, SAS

Justin Perry, Perry Counseling Healing and Recovery

Karl Rectanus, LearnPlatform

Marion Robinson, State Employees Credit Union

Katie Rosanbalm, Center for Child and Family Policy, Duke University

Peggy Smith, Campbell University

About the Public School Forum of North Carolina

Since 1986, the Public School Forum of North Carolina has been an indispensable and nonpartisan champion of better schools and the most trusted source in the state for research and analysis on vital education issues. We bring together leaders from business, education and government to study education issues, develop ideas, seek consensus, and ultimately inform and shape education policy. We do that through research, policy work, innovative programs, advocacy, and continuing education for educators and policymakers. Follow us on Twitter @theNCForum and visit our website at https://www.ncforum.org/


For More Information:

Mary Ann Wolf, PhD, 919-781-6833 x105

Share This